Buyer Beware of Partstore.com

Using Froogle, I stumbled upon a screaming deal on a Panasonic IP-based web cam. These are good for security and babies, and dogs, and I felt it would be very useful.

I had heard Panasonic made good IP cameras, so I started searching for “Panasonic camera” and stumbled on a search result from Partstore.com. This camera was listed as $17 on their site, and up to $700 on other sites. I thought maybe I had found a pricing error, or a good bargain. However, what I found was a bait and switch.

After researching the online store Partstore.com , I started to read other reviews where people had the same problem I did. Basically, they get you on your site with a low price, and then they tell you it is on back-order. Then you call and complain, and thy extend the back order date. Then you call and complain again, and they tell you that the part is discontinued and is no longer available. Isn’t that the point of these online stores – to locate a hard-to-find part?

Even though I knew the price on these cameras were to good to be true, I still feel like they should have honored their pricing. I doubt that the part is discontinued, and I am on a personal mission to make sure no one shops at their web site ever again. So, if you are reading this then be warned that if it seems to good to be true at Partstore.com – it is.