A new hobby – Dutch Oven Cooking and a table too!

I like the outdoors. I like cooking. Today they were joined in a new way. Last week I purchased a dutch oven with my birthday money, and today was my first foray into cooking with my new cast iron cookware.

I did some research on the Internet over the past week and determined I should piece together a dutch oven table to make cooking easier. I saw dutch oven tables being sold for around $100, but after doing some research found some make shift tables for much cheaper, and came up with my own idea.

table

I used two old saw horses, and bought a couple of galvanized pipes from home dept for around $6. I then went to Tractor Supply Company and bought two heavy duty feed pans for under $4 each. While I was there I picked up a pair of welding gloves, and a steel crow bar to use to lift the top of the dutch oven. All said and done I invested around $30.

Next I picked up some charcoal and a charcoal starter. Another $10. Well, I bought this “cowboy” charcoal not realizing that it was not briquettes, but rather chunks of wood. It worked, but made it hard to evenly distribute the heat.

I decided to make the “lazy cobbler” recipe that was in the cookbook that came with the dutch oven. Basically you dump a couple cans of peach cobbler, a yellow cake mix, and top it off with some butter. I had some trouble keeping my coals hot, and ended up putting more coals onto the fire. I put too many and it actually started boiling the peach juice. So, in the end I threw all the caols on top to try and brown the top of the cobbler.

cooking

The end result was actually really good. Jen and I had two helpings, with plenty of vanilla ice cream on top. Hopefully in the future we’ll be able to do some camping and I can make up some good dinners in my dutch oven.

cobbler

8 thoughts on “A new hobby – Dutch Oven Cooking and a table too!

  1. I occasionally read your blog because I am a Christian and I fly fish. Can’t remember how I found your blog.

    That said here are my two cents on dutch oven cooking.

    Use good regular charcoal and a chimney starter like you have. You will want to put coals under it and on top of it. You can use a simple ratio using the size of the oven. If it is a 12″ you will need 24 briquettes of charcoal. you put 14 on top and 10 on bottom. So for a 14″ oven you put 12 on bottom and 16 on top. This will give you about 350 Degrees and then you can cook anything like you would cook it in a regular oven. You also want to rotate the pan and the lid every 15 minutes.

    Fun stuff.

  2. Hi there, I just now come across your website whilst I’m hunting around Google as I’m looking for some material on wall ovens!. I think it’s an interesting site so I’ve bookmarked you and intend to come back tomorrow to enjoy a more indepth read when I’ll more free time.

  3. There are many types of diets that are far more rewarding and are healthier for yiur body.
    Note things you ike iin the portfolio (and on the website).
    This is a problem which sometimes becomes a serious issue with most of
    the people. Garbanzos deliver plenty of healthy faats that not only reduce
    weight but keep thhe heart healthy. A stronger heart iss able to pump more blood with less effort.

Leave a Reply

